10 Gallon Tank Cycling

Tanz

Is anyone here to help me plz I'm new in this hobby
I bought a 10-gallon tank and I try to cycle my tank is over a month I try everything. Fish In cycle, fishless cycle. I try-top fin water conditioner, Prime, stability, API quick start but I didn't see anything is working I just have 1ppm ammonia same like a month no nitrite nitrates...btw I'm using API master water test kit
What just happen in my tank why I didn't see any result..help me guys....is anyone living in Michigan.

jdhef

Part of your problem may be inpatience. All of the different medthods/products may have set you back. It generally takes about 3 weeks once ammonia is present, for the ammonia level to drop and nitrites to start climbing.

One other thing is if you have a pH to close to 6.0, you may nevber be able to cycle the tank. As the pH gets below 7.0, toxic ammonia start converting into not so toxic (some claim non-toxic) ammonium. By the time your pH get down to 6.0, all ammonia has been converted into ammonium.

The good thing anout ammonium is it's low toxitiy. The bad thing about ammonium is that it is a terrible food for the ammonia converting bacteria, so that bacteria will not develop due to lack of food.

Dunk2

Tanz said:
Is anyone here to help me plz I'm new in this hobby
I bought a 10-gallon tank and I try to cycle my tank is over a month I try everything. Fish In cycle, fishless cycle. I try-top fin water conditioner, Prime, stability, API quick start but I didn't see anything is working I just have 1ppm ammonia same like a month no nitrite nitrates...btw I'm using API master water test kit
What just happen in my tank why I didn't see any result..help me guys....is anyone living in Michigan.
jdhef mentioned low pH, but if it’s in your post I’m not seeing it.

Do you know the pH of your tank and tap water?

jdhef

Dunk2 said:

Ooops...I left the word "if" out. I have edited my post to include it.

Tanz

jdhef said: