Cycling with plants and fish?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by mearatiara, Jul 28, 2015.

1. mearatiara

mearatiara Valued Member Member

So I've been doing tons of research about cycling with fish and plants vs none. What do you recommend? I have a 60 gallon hex aquarium that is 31" x 24". I actually used to have freshwater fish, and they all died. Now I know it's probably because I didn't cycle my water.... :( Up until now I thought I could only keep Betta's alive lol.

2. D

DeniseMichele Valued Member Member

Well, I am pretty new to this myself. I have kept small tanks in the past, but I didn't really have a clue about proper cycling. As far as fish-in or no fish, you will likely get a 75/25 split with most people telling you to do a fishless cycle. That being said, if you are interested in doing a fish-in cycle, I would recommend doing some reading on Tetra SafeStart. Either way, I recommend plants as (from what I know) they help with cycling.

3. OP
    OP
    mearatiara

I keep reading on here to use Tetra SafeStart and a conditioner... I thought they were the same thing? And I've read keeping plants and fish is best too. I'm more than likely going to do that!

4. MightyCucumber

MightyCucumber Valued Member Member

If you use natural plants, the process will be much easier and faster - while plants break down nitrites (not so sure about the amonia...) they also always have some decaying parts, which in turn will become amonia sources for the good bacteria in the filter instead of usual fish waste, thus accelerating the cycle (or in the very least keep it going).

On another note, those bacteria not only grow on the filter but also on every surface of the tank in a thin layer, be it driftwood, rocks, plants, etc...