Cycling With Fish

1. OT4 Member Member

Hi. can someone please point me to a good, detailed, step by step guide to cycling with fish. I'm a beginner to this hobby, and I want to do everything right. I have a 20 gallon tank and I use seachem prime. Also, what fish should I use to cycle. I was thinking of using 3 male guppies, but If anyone has any other suggestions, please let me know.

PS. These are the fish I'd like to end up with
    • 1 Honey Gourami
    • 3 male guppies
    • 6 harlequin rasboras
    • 4 pygmy cories
    • (I'd also want one other fish that's the same size as the gourami- please reccoment one)

2. Angelbear Well Known Member Member

HI and welcome. You came to a great place to get started.

I was not patient enough to wait so I did a fish in cycling though it is not recommended. If done properly though you should have no problem.

Here is what I did.

Research. Everything you will pit into the tank, ask questions and read up on the nitrogen cycle. But supplies and test kit.

day one rinse and set up tank. Fill with de-chlorinated water. Hook up everything plug it in and let it run over night.

day two: I added tss (tetra safe start) the appropriate amount for my tank size and three fish. I used platies. You could probably use guppies. Be warned three males might be aggressive towards each other. Maybe 1 male and 2 females. Wait. Test water to keep an eye on it but don't do water changes unless you absoulutly hablve to for the next two weeks. Don't add any more fish let the safe start do its work. I also only fed small amounts every other day.

Two weeks later everything cycled fine. Numbers were good no ammonia no nitrites and only a few nitrates. Did a water change. Waited a day or two retested because I'm paranoid and wanted the best. Everything was fine. Added my next set of fish.