Cycling with Bio-Spira (troubles)

Nybbles

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm still a noob to this... got my first tank a couple/few weeks ago and recently started to cycle it.  At first, I started to cycle with fish, then found this place and all the mentions of Bio-Spira.  Last saturday, I added the Bio-Spira and the rest of the fish.

By Tuesday and Wednesday, I'd lost a fish and another wasnt looking so good.  So far, I've lost 4 guppies.  The odd thing is that the only ones I've lost were the new ones I added on Sat.  All of the ones that were in there previously are acting as normal and playful as ever.  Also, none of the Neon Tetra's have been acting abnormally either.

I'd been monitoring the water each day.. sometimes testing it twice a day.  Everything I've read says not to change the water when cycling with Bio-Spira, but when I started losing fish, I freaked out and did a couple changes.  Now, I know these changes may slow down the cycling process, but that's worth it to not lose any more fish.

I guess my question is now, when is it absolutely necessary to do a water change?  Since the tank is cycling, even with Bio-Spira, I know there will be some ammonia's and some nitrites until the bacteria establishes itself.  At what point should I change the water?  The ammonia and nitrite levels have never passed .5, which, while not good, does not seem like it would have such a devistating affect on the fish.  Add to the fact that it only affected the new fish, do you think I might have just got some sick fish?

Now that I'm done rambling, any thoughts?

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Did you acclimate the new fish? there may have been too much difference between your tank going through the cycling process and the tank they came from. sorry about your fish, don't get discouraged.