Cycling with API test kit

ITsJake

40 gallon tank with 2 live plants and sand substrate.

I have been cycling my tank for 2 months. I noticed nitrates starting around 3 weeks ago. Currently my nitrites are at 0 and nitrates around 5-10ppm. Nitrates have been at this level for around 2 weeks. However ammonia has been frustrating to the point where I’m wondering if the API Test Kit isn’t accurate.

For the last week and a half I was dosing my ammonia to 2-3ppm. I would test it the next day and see the ammonia drop to 1ppm. Then test the next day and it would read between .25-.50. So I know my BB was doing its job slowly but surely.

My last dosage of ammonia was 3 days ago and this is my current reading. My wife says it’s around .50 (I’m color blind so to me it looks at 0) but I trust her eyes more than mine. I would just think that after yesterdays ammonia test (.25) it would be at 0 today.

Can someone help me understand what I’m doing wrong here?

JuDom

40 gallon tank with 2 live plants and sand substrate.

I have been cycling my tank for 2 months. I noticed nitrates starting around 3 weeks ago. Currently my nitrites are at 0 and nitrates around 5-10ppm. Nitrates have been at this level for around 2 weeks. However ammonia has been frustrating to the point where I’m wondering if the API Test Kit isn’t accurate.

For the last week and a half I was dosing my ammonia to 2-3ppm. I would test it the next day and see the ammonia drop to 1ppm. Then test the next day and it would read between .25-.50. So I know my BB was doing its job slowly but surely.

My last dosage of ammonia was 3 days ago and this is my current reading. My wife says it’s around .50 (I’m color blind so to me it looks at 0) but I trust her eyes more than mine. I would just think that after yesterdays ammonia test (.25) it would be at 0 today.

Can someone help me understand what I’m doing wrong here?
Hello :)

What did your nitrates read at the time of this ammonia test?

ITsJake