Cycling the Tank

kumorisan

Hello!! (o≧w≦o)⁀♡︎

I was working on cycling my tank for a few weeks and I was following this website's directions: https://fishlab.com/how-to-cycle-aquarium/
I'm not entirely sure that the website is accurate, but the guy who made the thing has a lot of experience.

So, I added in some ammonia and waited for a week for the levels to drop. I dropped to about 1 ppm. Then, I moved on to the next step, which was to wait for the nitrifying bacteria to appear. Yet, I don't think I did the steps properly.
I tested for nitrites and got 0 ppm and ammonia 0 ppm. So I thought I should add more ammonia. I did... and the nitrite is still the same level. I haven't tested for ammonia yet, but am I doing the cycle wrong, or... should I move on? If it makes things easier, should I restart the cycle?

I have honestly no idea what I am doing... I've never done the water cycle before so if anybody can give me tips, that could really help!

AggressiveAquatics

So when cycling you keep adding ammonia and once it goes down to 0 in 24 hours that stage is done and that only takes about a week or two. Next keep adding ammonia to feed the bacteria and this is the tricky step that you have no control over is Waiting for nitrites nitrites can be really tricky when cycling a tank they can come up fast or take weeks to form. And eventually you will see nitrates which are the last form and when you see those and 0 ammonia 0 nitrite and 10-30 nitrate depending on if you have plants then your done. But make sure to even when you have nitrites keep adding ammonia

Upvote 0

kumorisan