Cycling Tank - Zero Nitrates - Plant To Blame?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by sy2505, Apr 13, 2019.

1. sy2505New MemberMember

Hi,

A new beginner here. Currently cycling a new small tank for about a week now.

The tank has ammonia and nitrites but no nitrates now. I would like to ask is it because of the live plant in the tank results in zero nitrates. I'm using API test kits.

Sorry if this question had been asked before.

Sam

2. Momgoose56Well Known MemberMember

Welcome to Fishlore Sam!
    Your tank should start showing nitrates when enough bacteria (nitrobacter) is established to start breaking down the nitrite into nitrate. What are your parameters at right now-pH, Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate? What is your ammonia source? Size tank? Filter? Heater?
    It sounds like everything is moving along like it's supposed to!

3. sy2505New MemberMember

Thank you for the quick reply :)

Tank pH is 7.6, Ammonia is 0.5, Nitrite is 0.25.

My ammonia source is fish food. Is a one-foot tank, HOB filter and no heater.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2019
  4. imbaWell Known MemberMember

Looks like its beginning to cycle.
    Give it another couple weeks, you will start to see nitrates

5. sy2505New MemberMember

Just to update my current cycling tank status:

Ammonia 0.5, Nitrite beyond chart, Nitrates 5ppm.

I know it is still long way to go but am wondering should I do a partial water change now?

I heard two versions, some said do pwc, some said no.

6. Momgoose56Well Known MemberMember

I would wait until your nitrates reach about 80ppm. Then do a 50% water change and keep feeding and watching.

7. happyscrubNew MemberMember

I don't like the idea of trying to cycle this way with a live plant. You mostly stressing the plant because of lack of nutrients.

8. Momgoose56Well Known MemberMember