Cycling tank, no readings yet, any ideas?

1. Coolbeans5 Initiate Member

Hey everyone!
    So I have a 29 gallon tank, all planted and a hob filter. I started the cycle exactly a week ago. I am using established media, a filter and some substrate from an established tank. This is a fishless cycle, and I am not adding amonia. I have been adding fish flakes daily, and a 25% water change each week. However, I am reading 0 for nitrates and amonia. I have the api test kits, not the strips! I am new to this and I have been getting a lot of conflicting information on the cycling process. I'm just wondering if I am doing anything wrong, and what I should do to get this cycle started. I'm just puzzled how I'm getting a zero reading for everything. Any information would be really appreciated :) thanks! -Megan

2. AndrewJ54 Member Member

Based on what you've said, there could be a few possibilities as to why you're getting 0 readings for everything. Are you testing daily or after each of your water changes? And how many flakes are you adding to the tank?

3. Coolbeans5 Initiate Member

I have been testing everyday, and never after a water change. I have been putting in a pinch. So probably a teaspoon? That's my guess

4. AndrewJ54 Member Member

And you're adding the flakes once or twice a day? My only theory would be that adding flakes is not causing a substantial amount of ammonia, and the cycle cannot start without it. Many people who cycle with fish food find that it is very messy and slow, in order for ammonia to build up you'd have to allow the flakes to sit and deteriorate in the tank and since you are changing water weekly it's not getting the chance to buildup and sustain the BB. I personally recommend either adding pure ammonia or doing a fish in cycle with Seachem stability and prime or even TSS.

5. Skyy2112 Member Member