Cycling Tank 2

NanaW
Courious I am starting to Fishless cycle my 3 g tank while my Betta sits in his 1.4g semI cycled tank ( can you tell I’m new at this )
My question is when the new one finishes cycling can I poor the water from his tank into the new one or would that ruin the cycle and the filter from old can I move to new for the media it would go in with the one there

Waterloo
I would net the fish and not mix water at all

WTFish?
What is “semI cycled?” If the tank he’s in isn’t cycled anyway then just put him in the 3 gallon with the old filter media and decor, substrate etc. top off with treated water. It’s what I would do anyway.

imba
What is “semI cycled?” If the tank he’s in isn’t cycled anyway then just put him in the 3 gallon with the old filter media and decor, substrate etc. top off with treated water. It’s what I would do anyway.

Yeah agreed, just move the betta now and cycle in the new 3 gallon instead. The bacteria you need to cycle your tank are in the substrate, decors, and mainly your filter media.

mattgirl
If it were me I would just go ahead and move EVERYTHING including water and fish over to the bigger tank and allow the semi-cycle to continue growing in the bigger tank instead of keeping him in such a small home. Be sure to either move the media from the filter on the small tank over to the filter for the bigger tank or if possible just go ahead and run both filters on the one tank until the cycle is complete.

NanaW
semI cycled is not cycled he has just been in it for over a week and it hasn't cycled but I bought the new tank and wondered if I should move him over I have heard both

So to move him over should I put him in a container of his water and switch it all over or just take piece by piece from the tank until its just water and fish sorry I can only learn from you guys I appreciate it.

mattgirl