Cycling question. Question

1. m-corbett1 Initiate Member

So, I'm new to keeping fish and fishlore, I have had my tank going for probably 3 months now. I've had some casualties, and accidents, but I'm learning. I did a 25% water change 3 days ago and yesterday I got 2 platys and 3 guppies. This morning I woke up and saw my water was getting cloudy. Is this a mini cycle or whatever theyre called... and if so what caused it?:;dk

Thanks, Mike.

2. Scott H Member Member

sounds like a mini cycle to me either that or it wasn't cycled fully to begin with, also the cloudy water sounds like a bacteria bloom which often happens during a cycle.

its not all bad news though if you do 50% water changes every day and keep testing for ammonia and nitrates and as soon as the ammonia disappears and you see some nitrates that means that your tank is cycled and you can go back to doing your regular water changes.

as to what caused the mini cycle, it was probably adding the new fish or your filter isn't big enough.

hope that helps and i hope your aquarium comes good soon!

3. m-corbett1 Initiate Member

thanks scott.

4. Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

Hi, I have to disagree with scott a bit, as his answer does not consider nitrites.

read this page: nitrogen cycle

this is it in a nutshell.
    Basically, your tank has ammonia from the waste. The beneficial bacteria living on the surface of your gravel and filter media eats the ammonia, changing it to nitrite. Another beneficial bacteria converts that into nitrates.

Any amount of ammonia or nitrites can be lethal to fish. A small amount of nitrates are fine (5-20). Once your tank is cycled, it means you have enough benefical bacteria growing to eat all the ammonia and nitrites, making your tank a healthy place to live. Your readings should be 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and 5-20 nitrates.

You need a good liquid test kit. The strips won't give accurate readings. API master test kit is highly recommended.