Cycling Question

Errol

Reaction score
Hi, I am a newbie to the forum but I have been reading many of the sites articles for some time. I have been given a very neglected 3ft (180) ltr fish tank, with cansiter filter. The fish from this tank (all goldfish) I believe died from neglect and various disease. I understand many chemicals were placed into this tank to solve the problems with obvious dire consequences.

I kept and cleaned the substrate from this tank as well as some orginal orniments. I have also cleaned the filter medium, sponges and biological medium (noodles and bio balls) There appeared to be no slime or biology happening the filter to speak of and my theory is that whatever chemicals were previously used killed this.

I have spent a great deal of time cleaning and bring the tank back to life. I have been cycling the tank fishless for about 3 weeks using fish food to start the process. A week into the cycle I started taking readings.

My query..... After about week 2 I noted a small rise in Amonia from 0.25ppm to 1 and then drop back to 0.25 shortly after 24/ 48hrs I saw a sudden rise in nitrites from .05 mg/l to 5 and then drop by the end of the week to 0. The amonia levels have remained at 0.25. PH has remained around 7 with very little adjustment made since the orginal set up. I did a partial water change of about 1/3 and nitrites and amonia have stayed the same. 0.25 and 0. Has the tank cycled? Why has the amonia levels not dropped to 0? Am I just being impatient?

Im sure in a move of impatients I bought 2 blue Gourami and a sucking cat fish. I thought this might help the process. All appear fine.

Any thoughts would be great. Thanks

shollia

Valued Member
Reaction score