Cycling Question - Test Results

fairytale

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I recently started cycling my 20 gal with pure ammonia and I wasn't able to test the water parameters for a few days because I was away from home, but when I got back today and tested the water I found my ammonia at 0.25ppm, nitrites hovering between 2.0-5.0ppm, and nitrates somewhere between 20-40ppm. I've heard a few other people say this means my cycle is nearly done, but I want to be sure I know what this means since I'm still fairly new to the aquarium hobby.

Hatchet5467

Reaction score
No, you still have a ways to go. Ammonia should be at 0 and Nitrates at 0.

Different bacteria convert Ammonia into Nitrite and Nitrite into Nitrate throughout the cycle. You are slowly colonizig bacteria based on available "food." You want the bacteria population to be to a point that it consumes everything so effieciently that you can not register any level of ammonia or nitrites in your aquarium. Nitrates should be close to zero.

Nitrates are what you must remove from your aquarium with water changes as they build up.

Last edited by a moderator:

Rtessy

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Well, most likely you only have another week or so, given the presence of nitrates. The only thing that slightly concerns me is the ammonia. How recently after adding ammonia did you test the water? Did you remove anything from the filter or clean it in tap water?

fairytale

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Well, most likely you only have another week or so, given the presence of nitrates. The only thing that slightly concerns me is the ammonia. How recently after adding ammonia did you test the water? Did you remove anything from the filter or clean it in tap water?