Cycling problem

1. 0morrokh Fishlore VIP Member

I'm cycling my tank with fish food, but the only food I have at the moment are freeze-dried things. I have been cycling my tank for over a week already, but there are still large pieces of brine shrimp floating around (yuck :p). Will these break down eventually, or do I have to clean them out eventually? And I haven't gotten some of my test kits yet (yes, shame on me :-\), so how far along should the cycle be? (I put in some fish food, am using Cycle, which is supposed to add good bacteria and speed up the process, and have an external power filter--if that matters.)

2. FishFan Member Member

The filter is good, because good bacteria will break in your filters. I've never heard of using food to cycle, but yet, I'm kinda new to this, too. Also, when it comes to the test strips, I buy the 5-in-one strips as well as the ammonia strips. I have heard to use Cycle, but I didn't. I have also been told to cycle anywhere from 3 days to a month! before adding any fish. So, I guess, I'd wait and see what everybody else says ;)

3. Mike Fishlore Admin Moderator Member

It's difficult to say how far along the cycle is without readings from a test kit. I've heard a lot of conflicting information regarding the cycle product. Some say it works and some say it doesn't. Flake food would probably work better than the freeze dried foods.
    The only way to determine where you are at in the cycle is to get a test kit.

I've updated the nitrogen cycle page and it now includes information on how to start the cycle fishless. Check it out and let me know if anything is confusing or raises questions:

https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

Thx,
    Mike

4. FishFan Member Member

"Many fish can not and will not make it through the cycling process. Often times the fish become stressed and disease starts to break out. I wonder what percentage of disease is caused by the cycling of new aquariums?"