Cycling New Tank

SmallCoward

Hello all!

I'm new to this hobby and hoping to understand where my fishless cycle is at. I'm on day 16 of cycling my 50L (13.2 gal) tank and after a nitrite spike that lasted six days, today they have dropped to <0.25. It's not quite the light blue colour. Ammonia never went that high(0.50 max) but now seems to be stuck at <0.25 however no amount of dosing with fish food or bloodworms seems to raise it so there must be enough ammonia-eating bacteria right? What I'm really confused about is that the nitrates didn't spike when nitrite dropped. There's one plant in there, I think its a varigated rush, could that be absorbing the nitrates?
Here's some stats if it helps:
Amm Nitrite Nitrate pH
12/06 0.50 1.0 - -
13/06 0.25 1.0-3.0 5
14/06 <0.25 3.0-5.0 5 7.6
15/06 <0.25 3.0-5.0 - -
16/06 - 1.0-3.0 5 7.6
18/06 <0.25 <0.25 5 -

Thank you!

I spaced out those stats nicely when I typed my question but then it did that lol. Here's a more comprehensive representation:

aquastat.png

Donthemon

Dose with ammonia, fishfood is to hard to get the right amount of ammonia to cycle properly.

SmallCoward

Dose with ammonia, fishfood is to hard to get the right amount of ammonia to cycle properly.
I would but I live in Australia where pure ammonia is banned.

lucy.hotdog

I recently started cycling a fishless tank, I used a lump of raw prawn, got my ammonia right up within 48 hours, nitrite is beginning to show up now. Seems to be doing the trick for me!

SmallCoward

I recently started cycling a fishless tank, I used a lump of raw prawn, got my ammonia right up within 48 hours, nitrite is beginning to show up now. Seems to be doing the trick for me!