Cycling Doesn't Appear To Be Working

Status
Not open for further replies.

dino4migravy

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So I'm relatively new to the hobby but consider myself knowledgeable enough to understand the basics. Off the bat, I got a 10g tank about 2 months ago. To make a long story short, we got some bad advice in the beginning, killed a bunch of fish, but thought we had everything sorted out.
The following has been going on for almost a month now. 10g tank with Aqueon quiet flow, 2 guppies, 2 moss balls and some nonsense decorations as well as a rock from a friend being used to hopefully seed the tank: I've been using the API master test kit to measure everything regularly (every other day if not daily). pH generally reads low 7, Nitrites and Nitrates read 0 but Ammonia is off the charts (maxes out at 8ppm?). Do a 50% water change, wait an hour, retest Ammonia, and its still off the chart. We then cut back feeding to every other day, with 25% water change daily, testing daily and again our ammonia is too high to read.
I have a couple friends who are exponentially more experienced with aquariums than I am (one with an aquaculture degree) and they're all as confused as I am as to why I'm having so much troubles with this tank. Someone recommended that I should just do a full water change, "bleach the tank," and start over. Another said I should do a 99% water change and change filters.
I'm looking for any ideas as to a) what's causing such high ammonia even after large water changes and b) ideas/suggestions as to what I should do next.
Any and all help is appreciated.

Tiny_Tanganyikans

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years