Cycling Betta Tanks Is Driving Me Nuts

Bettajones’smom

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby and am now addicted to betta keeping. Have already learned so much on this forum. I do still have one question that’s left me stumped. I started with 1 vt betta in 1 gallon, learned within 4 days that I needed a 5 gallon minimum so out I went to get a new tank, new heater, filter media (and fell hard for another fish that obviously needed help so I brought him home too). Since the new fish was unhealthy, he got the new tank, bought a 2 1/2 gallon for 1st betta (spamela manderson), and put new red vt (Katherine Betta Jones) in 5 gallon so he could get better, betta Jones had eye cloud and from what I gleaned on this site, inflamed gill disease. Medicated betta Jones, doing much better, bought another 5 gallon for spamela & a yellow mystery snail (Michael Slougless), to vacuum tanks & keep company. My question is the newer tank cycled within 8 days and older tank is still not cycled. Same tanks, top fin 5.5 gallon starter kits,same heaters, aqueoun adjustable 50 watt, same water conditioners & bb starter API QuickStart & aqueon betta bowl, so why has newer tank fully cycled & older tank still showing no nitrites, nitrates & still spiking ammonia. I am still having to do 30 to 40% pwc on spams tank while betta Jones is fully cycled. 0 ppm nh3 & nh4, 0 ppm NO2, 10ppm NO3 in Jones & Slougless tank, 1ppm NH3&4, 0 NO2 & NO3 in spams tank?? Temp is slightly warmer in spams tank, •80 degrees vs 78 degrees in K.Betta Jones. Could the slightly higher temp be causing this?

kayla20johnson

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Bettajones’smom said: