Cycle Slowed Down After Water Change

Svraka

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'm nearly at the end of my fishless cycle and I think I messed up... I did a big water change two days ago because my tank FINALLY cycled completely and nitrates were off the charts, and now my tank is cycling ammonia at a rate of 1ppm in 24 hours instead of 2ppm
However my nitrites are still at zero and my nitrates have gone up to 10 or 20, so it seems like my ammonia bacteria are the only ones that have gone down..I guess I'll add another 1ppm of ammonia for now
Is there a way to speed things up a little? I just want to get this over with! ugh

Im guessing it happened because I might have slightly overdosed on Prime? I also changed like 90% of the water but I made sure the filter stayed wet and the gravel didnt dry out
Thats what i get for not double checking what I was doing... I've been cycling for almost three months now

finnipper59

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Svraka said:
I'm nearly at the end of my fishless cycle and I think I messed up... I did a big water change two days ago because my tank FINALLY cycled completely and nitrates were off the charts, and now my tank is cycling ammonia at a rate of 1ppm in 24 hours instead of 2ppm
However my nitrites are still at zero and my nitrates have gone up to 10 or 20, so it seems like my ammonia bacteria are the only ones that have gone down..I guess I'll add another 1ppm of ammonia for now
Is there a way to speed things up a little? I just want to get this over with! ugh

Im guessing it happened because I might have slightly overdosed on Prime? I also changed like 90% of the water but I made sure the filter stayed wet and the gravel didnt dry out
Thats what i get for not double checking what I was doing... I've been cycling for almost three months now