Cycle questions, ongoing

Blueberrybetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
This is my first time cycling a tank and using ammonia . I received my dr Tim's ammonia on yesterday at 10am and I put 40 drops into my 10gal tank. I tested my water at 2am on 2/5 . My ammonia went from .25 to 2ppm.

Is 2ppm high enough to start the cycle ? Or should it be around 4ppm ?
If 2ppm is fine , do I keep adding ammonia every day to keep it up, or let the water be and turn into nitrites to nitrates?

How often should I roughly test the water too . Thanks

Salem

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
2ppm is fine. Id suggest dosing everyday. When I cycled my tank I only tested once or twice a week. You can test more often if you want to know exactly where you are or less often if you're not too concerned about it.

OP
Blueberrybetta

Blueberrybetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I started cycling my 10gal tank on 2/4/20.I put a brand new filter and cartridge in and I added substrate.

I dosed 40 drops of Dr Tim's Ammonia on 2/4 , tested the same day:

2/4
Ph: 7.6
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 5ppm
Ammonia: 2ppm

2/5
I added 10 more drops

2/7
Ph : 7.6
Nitrite: 2ppm
Nitrate: 40ppm
Ammonia : 1ppm

I've been testing the water every other day but today I finally got nitrites at 2ppm and my Ammonia went down to 1ppm, Nitrates shot up to 40 ppm

Is the cycle going good so far? This is my first time using ammonia is seeing nitrites .

Do I keep adding the ammonia drops still or did the cycle start and should I let the nitrites convert to nitrates .

Thanks

Cichlidude

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Your cycle will take 3-8 weeks to complete. Patience...

Sorg67

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Your cycle seems to be progressing fast based on ammonia going down and nitrates going up. Did you seed it with seasoned cycle material?