Cursed tank of sick fish???!!!

Discussion in 'Members Fish Tanks' started by marina3, Mar 24, 2010.

1. m

marina3 Valued Member Member

Hi guys!!! This is my 1st tank ever!!! Is a 10gal that have been running since January 13 of this year. I started not knowing about fishlesscycling so cycling with fish has been very stressful and caused several death... By now I know, that we make mistakes (I am a NEWBIE!!!) but by now, the deaths in this tank are an enigma:;dk or is it cursed???? OR this especialty store is selling me SICK FISH!!! Currently I have 3 very active Neons and I HAD 3 Serpae Tetras (1 died last night) and a Glowlight Tetra (very active too). The problem seems to be the Serpaes, they are being very shy, they don't come up to eat so the Neons and Glowlight eat all the food and like I say, one already died.Examining the body, he had a yellow spot and his "tail" fin was gone. In this tank, when one fish died, within 2 days the ones of the SAME KIND follow!! The water levels are good. Ammonia is not exactly zero but not enough to reach .25 (I go by the color chart, zero=yellow, .25 is a lime green, my test is a yellow with a hint of green) PH is around 8 and Nitrates 10... Water changes are done weekly, 2 galons at the time conditioned with Prime. I have another tank with bettas and thank God, I have been able to keep it healthy with no problems. The fish that are dying were bot at a very clean, well take cared og small tropical fish store. The thriving Neons are from Petsmart. Any thoughts???? I really appreciate it!!!

Attached Files:

2. LyndaB

LyndaB Fishlore Legend Member

Sorry you're losing fish. That's always a sad thing.

What kind of test kit are you using? The strips or an API Master Kit?

Also, what is your nitrIte reading?