Curious 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by fishaddicted, Apr 4, 2010.

1. fishaddictedNew MemberMember

Hey,

I'm new to keeping fish. I recently got two male bettas and two angel fish. I have them in two tanks( bettas separated). I am gonna get a ten gallon tank from a friend. But I was wanting to know since it is a bigger tank, would it be ok to put both bettas in it without a divider? I am looking at dividers, but i was just curious. And if it would be ok to put a pleco with my bettas.

2. Lucy

LucyModeratorModerator Member

Welcome to FishLore!!
    Unfortunatly, 2 males cannot go in an undivided tank. Someone would be killed.

A 10g isn't big enough for a pleco and a betta, especially if it's divided for the two of them.

What size tank are you getting for the Angels? I don't know much about them, but you'll need at least a 30 for 2, probably bigger.
    Someone with more experience with them can help with that.

3. peacemaker92

peacemaker92Well Known MemberMember

4. OP
    OP
    f

fishaddictedNew MemberMember

Ok i figure I'd have to get a divider.
    I read that you could put angel fish with bettas. I have to tanks and was planning on putting each one with a Betta. But I ended up having to put both angelfish with my betta in the 1 gallon bowl that i have right now. My sisters Betta is more aggressive than mine and was stressing the one angelfish out. My Betta is doing good with both of the angelfish, he flared a little last night. I figure with more room, my sisters betta wouldn't be as aggressive. Am i right?

5. peacemaker92

peacemaker92Well Known MemberMember

It depends. But I'd advise getting at least a 5 or 10 gal each for the bettas. It's quite risky keeping Angelfish with a betta because both can possibly kill each other.

6. Lucy

LucyModeratorModerator Member

Not necessarily. Most bettas don't make good tank mates.
    Either they can get aggressive or their flowing fins are targets for nippy fish.