Crowntail vs Halfmoon

1. critter_fritter79 Well Known Member Member

I am just curious, are halfmoons somehow better than crowntails? I have noticed that everyone seems to really love the halfmoons and when looking for breeding fish, even on Aquabids there are SO many more halfmoons for sale than crowntails.

Do the halfmoons breed or show better? At the moment, I am only breeding crowntails, but I love the halfmoons too. Other than the obvious difference in the fin types, are there things about the 2 different kinds that make the halfmoons better? Or are they just more popular? Goodness knows I am still new to some of this so I wanted to get some general opinions and maybe some reasons for this.

2. JaneAustenAddict Member Member

I know my reason is going to sound stupid, but I prefer halfmoons to crowntails because with the crowntails I can never tell if the tail has fin rot or is missing pieces. I am constantly thinking I need to medicate for something and never know if I really do or not.

3. Diggly Well Known Member Member

I have 3 crowntails and love them to bits, I am getting another tank so if another betta choses me I will divide it if another fish chooses me then so be it :)!

4. Tony G. Fishlore VIP Member

Personally i LOVE halfmoons. The reason they are so wanted is because of their beautiful finnage :) i have CT though and love him to bits, but he is on his last leg :(

5. Diggly Well Known Member Member

I would love a divided tank with halfmoons! ill put it next to my ct tank and take a picture for this thread haha

6. TedsTank Well Known Member Member

Oh I wish I could help you, but, I have no experience with bettas YET !!!!

Both types are beautiful...I think halfmoons take the beauty a few steps farther, and crowntails are soooo interesting in their looks, also.

7. Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member