Critique my betta!

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by kuhliloach85, Jul 8, 2015.

1. kuhliloach85

kuhliloach85 Valued Member Member

How does my betta rate in terms of form/color? I think he's a rose tail. I got him at Petco. I know he's not a show fish, but I'm curious how he compares.

10ii2pd.jpg 11r3dbt.jpg

2. chrt396

chrt396 Well Known Member Member

He's a good looking Betta!! I've been looking at getting a red one as well...but I'm DYING to get a black one with yellow fins. Your Betta appears to be a half moon Betta...but I'm not an expert on names for them. I have dark blue with magenta fins half moon.."Smitty". He's my buddy! LOTS of personality.

3. junebug

junebug Fishlore Legend Member

If you want a critique to show standards, a clear, full side shot of the fish in a full flare is necessary.

4. OP
    OP
    kuhliloach85

He moves around so much, these are the only two I was able to get, I'll try again tonight.

5. chrt396

Jump up behind me and scare the poop out of him. He will flare! :;laughing

I think he's a good looking fish!

6. _Fried_Bettas_

_Fried_Bettas_ Well Known Member Member

Well if you can't show him a mirror or another betta and have him flare enough for a photo, he would not be considered showable. He is obviously a nice betta, but for any real critique he needs to flare so we can see the nice D shape on his caudal fin.

7. chrt396

I really like the white one in your signature. The dark red really makes him pop!

When I first got my bettas..they flared like crazy..but once they settled in..and became more comfortable...they never flair up. The picture of the Betta in my signature was taken the 2nd day after I brought him home. He was flaring up even when I looked at him across the room. He has since turned into a big ol' lazy hound dog. All he wants to do is eat!

8. OP
    OP
    kuhliloach85

OK, I showed him a mirror last night and got these shots.
    *click on photo for larger image*

359ii5t.jpg

Video: