Cray Suddenly Acting Strange?

1. macfontaine

macfontaine New Member Member

ive been reading around for a while, but this is my first time actually posting here, so sorry in advance if i do something wrong or dumb, haha..

i have a male electric blue crayfish who seems to be sick or otherwise anxious. i'm admittedly relatively new to the hobby, but ive been doing my research and for the first month things went really smooth, his first molt went down without a hitch, he was active and healthy and really fun to watch, huge personality-- up until a few days ago.

about a week ago, there was a good few days where i wasnt checking on him as often, as i was recovering from wisdom teeth removal and his tank was in a room that wasnt easily accessible for me. within those four days, he molted a second time, grew back his missing leg (the pet store i got him from kept him with cichlids, of all things...) and antennae chunks, but, especially of the past four days, now absolutely refuses to eat a single thing or leave his cave at all. ive had to stop offering food because everything i gave him went bad and im afraid the constant cleaning scares him even more-- he hates the gravel vacuum with a passion, so ive been removing the big chunks and what's left of his shell with feeding tongs, and even that seems to really bother him.

he's about 3-ish inches long (havent measured him since last molt, obviously), he's in a long 5 gallon right now (temporarily... im currently saving up for a 10) with a filter, bubbler, some driftwood, one moss ball (which im contemplating removing, all it's really doing is collecting food and getting gross), and no heater. i just did a full water test and while i dont remember the numbers off the top of my head, i know everything was well within ideal crayfish parameters.