Couple Questions

danath256

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the fourms, and have some questions.

I purchased a 10 gallon tank from my local Petco. It was one of those "starter kit" kinds, I figured this would be the easiest way to get back into fish since I had a tank when I was younger and my mom gave it all away. I followed all the directions that came with the tank, and got my water from a friend who has an RO system and is big into saltwater fish.

I have a "Tetra Whisper Power Filter" are those any good or should I look for something new? it seems most of the water is draining back into the tank without going through the filter first, i followed all the directions that came with it, it seems like it can't pass as much water through the filter as is getting pumped into it.

But my concern was, I purchased a small air pump and air stone after I hooked everything up,now there are alot of bubbles that are ontop of the water, is this a problem?

I also got a small powerhead as a gift, I also have this in the tank with an airline hooked to it, I would like to keep it since the fish like to play in the current, but if its a bad idea I will remove it.

mistycheri

Valued Member
Reaction score
Welcome to Fishlore!
As to your question about the Whisper Filter, they are good filters, I use them myself.
As to the bubbles on top of the water, that is normal and completely okay as long as your fish don't mind. By the way, what kind of fish do you have?
The water may look like it's not going thru the filter, but it is.
And as long as your fish like the powerhead current no problems there. But do you really need the air stone and the powerhead?

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years