Cotton ball spots Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by image_image, Apr 4, 2010.

1. i

image_image Valued Member Member

I'm VERY new to this fish keeping thing - PLEASE to be easy on me... Later today I am going to be cycling my tank for the 1st time. I was recommended to use Prime & to buy the API master test kit. Which I did. I also bought a gravel vacuum because my turkey baster just isn't cutting it.

Anywho, down to the nitty gritty: Both mollies look like they have white, cottony-looking balls of something on them. The female has one spot on her fin, and the male has a few spots on his side. I do not want to medicate them because I want the water quality to be stable first. In the mean time, are there any remedies I can try that could help them? (This is assuming it's ich, if anyone disagrees, do not hesitate to inform me!!!) I read here with ich you can turn the heater up and it will cause the bacteria to die - only problem is, I have a 2gal tank (upgrading in May) and the mini heater has no settings.

Also worth mentioning, the female I bought was pregnant and thus, there is one remaining fry living in a little plastic fruit container with holes poked in it and rigged to the side of the tank. (Later today he will be moving into the breeding net) I know it's possible that this little guy could have caught whatever the other 2 fish have. Just saying, incase any solutions would be harmful to him...

2. Lucy

Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

Many of us started out wrong, so no worries.

I think you may have the wrong idea of what the nitrogen cycle is.
    It's process a tank goes through to grow beneficial bacteria that processes the toxic ammonia (created by fish waste and left over food) into equally toxic nitrItes. Another bacteria forms and converts the nitrItes into nitrAtes.
    This process can take up to a month.
    If you haven't seen it before, here's a link that explains it:
    Nitrogen Cycle