Cory has weird growth on fin?

Rebeccaxo

Hey guys I’m new to this but had to do a fish in cycle with the amazing help from this group and fantastic helpful experienced members anyway! I’m needing advice I have 3 albino corys and two peppers corys going to get more in time, but I’ve noticed recently the smallest of my corys the last week or so barbels looks non existent in been feeding him with a sygrine putting food right at his wee mouth he’s been hiding a lot and lying on his wee side and back but this week he seems so much better swimming about with the other too not lying around as much! Or hiding but myself and my partner have noticed a growth on his wee fin it looks like a small bit of fluff growth type thing stuck to him! I’m worried and I’ve never had to treat anything as yet and not sure what it is so any advice is welcome I’ve tried my best to get w picture of the wee guy! But it’s hard.. thanks x

DoubleDutch

Are you doing a fish-in-cycle with Corys Rebecca ?

Rebeccaxo

I did at the beginning but didn’t no about cycling got wrong advice from a local shop my tank I think has cycled now I haven’t had postive readings for ammonia or nitrite for a while now and my nitrate on API sits about 20ppm but gets a little higher when my weekly water change is due x
I have sand but I’m worried the barbels all look so short on my corys but this one looks like he had non! I changed my gravel to sand near the start once I gained more knowledge x

DoubleDutch

Asking cause the fins all look ragged amd damaged.

Corys aren't suitable for a fish-in-cycle cause they are very sensitive to all nitrogyncompoinds involved. That's why they loss barbelss and fins.

I'd do daily waterchanges and add an antifungal med or maybe even a broadspectrum though I don't like those.

Rebeccaxo