Cory died with no symptoms? I want to make sure others are safe!

sfeath

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
My green cory (C. Aeneus) died sometime last night. Yesterday he was completely fine, an a much darker green. Today when feeding I found all my corys except him, and saw one under a plant, flipped over. Turns out it was my green cory. Besides being much lighter in color and some hurt fins from the tweezers/ other fish, I can't find anything wrong? All my parameters are reading stable and in a safe range as of this morning, I changed water 4 days ago and I have gravel in the area he died, sand in a different area. I clean sections of gravel at a time and the tank is planted and only has been active for a couple of months, so I don't think it is anerobic bacteria? But I am relatively new with issues that can arise with fish, so I don't actually know! It is a 20G tank, no added CO2, Marina SlI'm 20G for extra flow/filter plus a sponge filter to make up for the slim's lack of power! No temp fluctuations besides the water change, and the only other fish are microrasboras, and they don't mess with the corys. He was my smallest and more skinny, but still ate so I just figured he was a male? His barbells looked clean, and I didn't see any red spots on him, or patches of white! He did change color from when I initially put him in the tank, but that was over a month ago! Here are the pictures I took after I removed him from the tank!

Also, got him out of the tank with metal tweezers, so that caused some of the damage to his sides :( rip cooper

Attachments

OP
sfeath

sfeath

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
H Farnsworth said:
Did you quarantine and is it a chain store fish?
I adopted him from my mom who had him for a couple of months, and I've had him for a couple of months myself! So he definitely didn't have any fast acting diseases :/ I don't think he is from a chain store, but can't say for certain!