Cory And Substrate

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by mccann1987, Jul 19, 2017.

1. mccann1987

mccann1987Valued MemberMember

20170719_152654.jpg

I currently have pea gravel(pictured) would this be ok for corys.

I know alot of people recommend sand. It is a possibility that I could change to sand( thinking black sand so fish stand out more) but I have no experience using sand as a substrate.

I like to syphon my gravel with every water change to keep the water as clean as it can be. How easy is sand to syphon/keep clean and will shrimp and nerite snail be ok with sand.... also I have been looking at the African dwarf frogs they look interesting any thoughs on the frogs.

Thanks.

2. MommaLake

MommaLakeWell Known MemberMember

Cories can be on small sized gravel as long as it's smooth rounded gravel. Water quality is more important than having sand.

That being said, cories are one of my favorite fish and I switched my tanks to sand to make them happy. Now that i have had sand I'll never use gravel again. They love nosing around in the sand and it's no harder to clean than gravel. Just different.

To clean sand I poke/gently stir it up a bit to get the floaty bits up in the water column. I rubber band a chopstick to my gravel vac for this. I also greatly over filter which keeps most stuff from settling on the bottom in the fist place.

Everything else is the same, regular water changes etc.

3. Lance0414

Lance0414Well Known MemberMember

Cories should be fine on that gravel. I have my Bronze Cories on gravel that looks very similar in size compared to yours and they have quarter inch barbels and are eating and acting normally.

4. Floundering_Around

Floundering_AroundWell Known MemberMember

I used to have gravel like that, now I have CaribSea Ecoconplete (crushed lava rock) and my pygmy corys do just fine

5. Prism

PrismWell Known MemberMember