Correct placement of filters intake/output?

Crow

Reaction score
Hi
Newbie here. I have two external cannisters to set up my 200 gal tank. Where is the best place to put intakes and outputs?
I thought I woud have intakes at each end with the left one outputting accross surface from middle of tank directed to right and vice versa for other. This I think would give enough surface agitation and flow direction of tank water would be from centre to ends. Is this a good idea or am I way off track?
I would really appreciate thoughts.
Thankyou
Richard

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
If I personally had 2 canister filters, I would probably do something like this:
(this is just a suggestion)

Crow

Reaction score
hi
Thanks Isabella. I hadn't thought of it that way but I can see a lot of sense in it. I would ask though, would I be better to have one intake lower near bottom? In your diagram the intake on right could be placed lower to take in lower debris. It would still create your circular waterflow. How would this affect?. Sorry to ask question about it but new and curious to all reasonings.
Thanks
Richard

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Richard, this picture shows the tank's TOP view. It's like you're looking down into your tank. It's not an eye-level view.

The circular water flow is mainly created by the outflow tubes and the directions in which they're pointed at. You basically want your 2 outflow tubes (1 from each canister filter) to let the water flow in the same direction. The direction is counter-clockwise in this picture (once again, it's a top view).