20 Gallon Tank Correct Light Bulbs

rOcKoN

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

So I've read through this guide: General Guide to Low-Light Planted Tanks

Really really helped me out but I've got one question, I am running a Resun DM-800 (80 liter or 21 Gallons) which has 2 bulb slots.
20190804_141834.jpg

20190804_141322.jpg

As per the above guide for planted tanks around 1.7wpg is ok for planted tanks.
I have 2x of Philips Genie 18W CDL 6500K bulbs which if I am correct it translates to 1.71wpg. Sounds good to me but I've heard that there are specific UV light bulbs for this kind of appliances although I am not sure this is correct.

I am concerned that I am not providing the right kind of lighting for my planted tank.
Any help would be appreciated.

P.S. I've got some micranthemum umbrosum on the rear left of the tank that i hope will turn into a carpet but I am very new to this.

So if anyone could recommend anything more that would be awesome. (substrate, fertilizers?)

Last edited by a moderator:

smee82

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello everyone,

So I've read through this guide: General Guide to Low-Light Planted Tanks

Really really helped me out but I've got one question, I am running a Resun DM-800 (80 liter or 21 Gallons) which has 2 bulb slots.
View attachment 577922
View attachment 577921
As per the above guide for planted tanks around 1.7wpg is ok for planted tanks.
I have 2x of Philips Genie 18W CDL 6500K bulbs which if I am correct it translates to 1.71wpg. Sounds good to me but I've heard that there are specific UV light bulbs for this kind of appliances although I am not sure this is correct.

I am concerned that I am not providing the right kind of lighting for my planted tank.
Any help would be appreciated.

P.S. I've got some micranthemum umbrosum on the rear left of the tank that i hope will turn into a carpet but I am very new to this.