Coral Identification Please

Shja8789

HI everyone I’m new here and also to the saltwater aquarium hobby I was wondering if anyone can identify the below coral for me. Much appreciated!

stella1979

Welcome to Fishlore, and congrats on taking a step on the salty side!

Hmm, I'm not sure that's a coral at all. Looks more like an anemone to me, though I'm not experienced with nems so couldn't tell you what species that might be. Can you provide us with more pics, and maybe under different lighting? Sometimes it helps to show the piece under blues and whites.

littlemew4

I've been looking around google and I think it is must likely a bubble tip anemone. (You could double check on google if you want.) Hopefully I'm right.

stella1979

I hope you're right too! Lol, I've seen lots of those guys, and even though I don't keep them, googling is not needed. I also thought bubble tip, but it can be hard to tell sometimes, and I certainly don't want to get folks excited to find out I was wrong. Anyhow, perhaps we're right. I'm used to seeing them with longer pointy tips, but I think your guy is little and new, so perhaps he just needs to get established and grow a little before he shows us his full potential.

Shja8789

HI stella & littlemew4 thanks for the replies! I googled bubble tip anemone and it does look very similar so I think you might be right below is a couple more pics in different lighting. Thanks again
IMG_8502.jpg

IMG_8503.JPG

stella1979

Nice pics!

The only thing that's throwing me is how visible the oral disc is. I don't have experience with btas, so I couldn't say for sure, but it seems unusual to me. Let me call on one of my favorite nem keepers to see what he can tell us... Oh Nart

Nart

stella1979
The only thing that is throwing me off is it's footing. is it on something? because the footing looks like it's on a dead skeleton of an LPS coral of some sort or is there serrations on it's footing.