Converting to Prime.

1. Bellatrix Member Member

Hi all,

I'm wanting to convert to Prime from my regular water conditioner and I was wondering if suddenly switching would upset things.

Is it safe to add Prime to my next water change instead of my regular conditioner or will the two different products react to each other? If that makes sense?

I also drop a capful of TSS in every time I do a water change. Do I still do this with Prime?

I know these may sound like stupid questions but I'm still new to this, Google gives such conflicting information.

2. hampalong Fishlore VIP Member

Just switch, it won't affect anything. You can also add it with TSS, although adding TSS is unnecessary.

3. jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

Come on Bellatrix, you have 72 posts and still don't know there are no stupid questions.;)

It will be fine to just switch to Prime with your next water change. There will be no interference between Prime and whatever you are using presently.

If your tank is cycled, there is no reason to add TSS. Your water changes will not damage your bacteria in anyway, so there is no reason to add new bacteria to the tank. Plus the Prime will cause the TSS to fail anyway.

4. oldsalt777 Well Known Member Member

Hello Bel...

No such thing as a stupid question, just a stupid mistake. If you're planning to switch water treatments, I suggest using a better product. Prime has been around for several years and is a good product. A better one, by the same company "Seachem" is Safe. It's a powder form of Prime. It's much cheaper and works just as well.

You can switch any time you want and don't have to worry about chemical reactions. Just dose according to directions.

Old

5. hampalong Fishlore VIP Member

... only according to Tetra. In practice it doesn't affect TSS.

6. jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

And what would Tetra know about SafeStart right?

7. peregrine Member Member