Continuous Water Testers Question 

mattmf1

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hello again all,

I have seen forms of water quality meters that go in the water and continually monitor some of the parameters(I forget which ones).

My question is if anyone uses these or any time of full time water checking device.

Thanks in advance.

-Matt

LyndaB

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
HI Matt.

I've never heard of this. But I'm relatively new to fishkeeping (5 years). I don't know how something like that would work, since when we do our testing, we have to add liquids from a variety of bottles.

Do you have a link or something where you found this information? x

phishyitis

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I used the ammonia ones and in my opinion they are worthless.By the time they would register ammonia your fish will already be in distress.It would show 0 ammonia and I would test with a liquid test kit and it would register ammonia.There is no substitute for testing at regular intervals with a liquid test kit.

jetajockey

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I've read good reviews for seachems ammonia alert but I've never used it personally, I just test weekly or anytime the fish look stressed.

gokaran

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I Have Seachem Ammonia Alert. I use it as an early warning System

I can't really comment on its effectiveness. I have never had an ammonia problem(hug a tree)

my kit tests always show zero ammonia( verified with reference tests)

pepetj

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years