Constipated or pregnant white cloud minnow?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Sturty, Jan 8, 2013.

1. SturtyValued MemberMember

Ok so i have two white cloud minnows from a group of 7 that are bigger than the rest. Im happy with one as he is larger overall and is the alpha fish of the school, but the second is only larger in the belly area. She's getting bigger on a daily basis and im not sure if shes constipated or pregnant?
    Here is a video, shes too fast for photos

2. fishynoobWell Known MemberMember

Have you tried feeding shelled peas that usually help if it is constipation. I have no experience with WCMs so I can't help further but do keep us posted.

3. JuhasonNew MemberMember

I don't have experience with WCMs either, but from the looks of it she doesn't seem constipated. I have other fish that are egg layers (like tetras) and they always look like that when they are all full of eggs. If she were constipated she probably wouldn't act so vibrant and active like that. But you should still take fishynoob's advice and feed her a pea and see what happens. Just to be safe. Make sure the pea is taken out of the shell!

4. AnthonyC4CWell Known MemberMember

I'll just go with constipated lol just so we have both options covered...

5. SturtyValued MemberMember

I'll give them a shelled pea later today and see how she goes.

Odd question but what would cause constipation in a fish?

6. AnthonyC4CWell Known MemberMember

well thats simple silly... you just get backed up....

7. SturtyValued MemberMember

Haha i know, but is there certain foods or brands of food that should be avoided?
    Ive noticed my minnows eat the cucumber that i put in for the snails and i feed them tetra branded tropical flakes

8. AnthonyC4CWell Known MemberMember

Everything seems fine unless your little fishy bit off more than it could chew on the cucumber...and apparently turning itself into a little fatty

9. BorngeminiValued MemberMember