Constant Vs Variable Tank Conditions

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by omarfarhat, Apr 8, 2019.

1. omarfarhat

omarfarhatNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi. I am relatively new to this hobby. I have a few questions. I totally understand that any type of fish needs stable and appropriate water parameters (temp, ph, cycled tank, etc... ). My question here is, can variability of other factors such as flow/current, noise, air pump running/not running...etc.. can variability of these factors stress the fish? Let me give an example. Tank A and tank B are identical (same fish, same decor, same filtration..etc... Tank A has filter and powerhead and air pump running 24/7. Tank B has filter running 24/7 but powerhead and air pump on a timer (occasionally on and occasionally off...) So in tank B the water movement and level of noise and bubbles/no bubbles is not constant throughout the 24 hours of the day. Will the fish in tank B be more stressed? Do fish get accustomed to a certain setup and get stressed by any change in that setup? Or can they deal with variability? I would appreciate any input. Thank you.

2. TheBettaSushi

TheBettaSushiWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +449
    Experience:
    3 years
    I have a hob filter that runs constantly (for obvious reasons). However, I also have an airstone that I turn on at night when the lights go off. I have a betta in the tank so my filter is baffled to deter flow and not push too much current but I also have live plants. I believe the airstone helps oxygenate the water some (in case my betta decides to find a comfortable resting spot towards the bottom of the tank). My fish enjoys the airstone when it’s on as he swims right on top of it and stays there for quite some time. My pump is extremely quiet as is the airstone, except for a light humming sound the airstone makes. The noise doesn’t bother him at all and definitely doesn’t cause him any stress.

3. Executionernerner