Considering a saltwater tank

1. BriLandy Well Known Member Member

Hey all,

I'm a freshwater fish hobbyist and I've been toying with the idea of setting up a saltwater tank for some time now. I understand they generally require more maintenance and can be more difficult as far as initial setup goes.

I'm thinking of converting a 29 gallon tank into a FOWLR, since I don't want to spend lots of money on a reef when I don't know what I'm doing yet.

I was wondering about other people's experiences when going from freshwater to saltwater. Is it true that it's more difficult? How are the ongoing costs compared to freshwater tanks? I am concerned about buying RODI water on a regular basis.

Any tips for a newbie would be appreciated.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

2. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Bumping this up for you

3. Slug Well Known Member Member

Do you have any spot for an RODI filter? For ~$200 you can get an RODI system and make it yourself. Very worthy investment if you have the space, trust me.

I don't think it's THAT much harder. Especially FOWLR. Reef you will be monitoring more parameters than FOWLR. FOWLR is the usual FW parameters and then salinity. RODI water (unless making your own), salt and fish food will be your only real constant costs. RODI filters every few months if you have your own system. A bucket of plain Instant Ocean salt runs about $55, you can get about 11 50% water changes out of one bucket for your tank if my math is correct. So you figure maybe a water change twice a month and you're looking at $110 a year for salt. If you do less than 50% each WC (likely) you can probably stretch it further.

Take things slow, read up on things you aren't clear about and enjoy it! I love salt. Invest in a refractometer instead of those cheap hydrometers with the swing arms. It's like $20 or less on Amazon and much more accurate.

4. guthrieb08 Member Member