Confusing platy youngster

MissNoodle

About 5 months old. The last one I'm unsure on its sex.

I had it in with its sister and mother for the time being, but I noticed the analfin is beginning to elongate and I caught it trying to mate with its mother (kept trying to stick its fin in).

So I promptly moved it to the tank with its brothers and an adult male. One of the brothers immediately went over and mated with it.

What sex is this thing, I am so very confused by this situation.

This photo was taken last night. Note the longer analfin, turning into a point.

This photo was about 2 weeks ago, notice the difference in the analfin.

emeraldking could you explain the behaviour?

Dechi

It looks like a female to me but I’m no expert.

MissNoodle

I got a photo this morning with flash... its very active and does not sit still well

Bob79

I have no idea if it's a male or female, but I must say that is the most beautiful platy I have ever seen, love the blue shade. I have never seen this one where I live

MissNoodle

Bob79 said:
I have no idea if it's a male or female, but I must say that is the most beautiful platy I have ever seen, love the blue shade. I have never seen this one where I live
Thank you! Theyre blue mickey mouse platies.
This is mom

Sister

And brothers

And this butthead with the spots is Rocket, hes unrelated. Was hoping to breed him with the one confirmed female.

Dechi

MissNoodle said:
Theyre blue mickey mouse platies.
Do they have to have the dark spot near the tail to be called Blue Mickey mouse ? Mine is blue but no big spot, so I guess she’s just a regular blue ?

She was sold to me as a male, but a few months later she’s a female. I wonder if the guy at the store just didn’t know better or if she changed sex just like yours ? It would be strange but I’ve heard of that in animals, I don’t know about fish.

Ohhhhhh yeah !

emeraldking

MissNoodle said:
I got a photo this morning with flash... its very active and does not sit still well