confused!!

dfrap

I am new at keeping tropical fish. I bought my first aquarium (a 10 gallon) about 5 weeks ago. Set it up and 3 days later bought a fancy guppy, 2 mollies and a pleco. Within a week, one of the mollies died. A week later, the pleco died. And another week later, the other mollie died. So now we have a pleco (which I thought I needed for the algae, I now know better) and the fancy guppy. When I found out the cause of fish death was ammonia poisoning, I started doing 50% water changes for a few days. The ammonia dropped from 8.0 to 2.0. I also changed the filter which someone suggested. Right now my levels are as follows:

ammonia: 1.0
Ph: 6.6
nitrites: 0
nitrates: 0

I'm confused about the cycling process. I know the ammonia levels are suppose to spike up so the bacteria can grow. Then convert it to nitrites, etc. But I've been told to keep changing the water until the ammonia drops to zero, so the fish I have don't die. So, I'm doing 20% water changes every day and vaccuuming the bottom. My question is this...if I keep doing water changes to get the ammonia down, how will the good bacteria start to grow to get my tank cycling? And is it possible the my tank DID cycle already? I didn't start testing the water (I do have the good Master Test Kit) until I had the tank for about 2 weeks. This question probably has an obvious answer, but I've asked many people who aren't giving me the info I need. So if anyone can help me out, it would be MUCH appreciated! Thanks!

Isabella

Welcome to Fish Lore Dfrap

You've made some mistakes on the outset ... but haven't we all? Now you're on the right track as I can see you already took some time to learn about the cycle and how important water changes are.