10 Gallon Tank Confused: lighting for a few low-light plants?

PurpleFish

I need help:
I bought a new Aqueon 10g kit for home () and thought I’d try a couple low-light live plants, maybe Java ferns. I’m thinking to stock it with about 9 ember tetra or 6 cardinals, after it’s built and fully cycled.

I’ve been reading around on here but am really confused with what to look for in a light. Since I’m a newbie and these will be my first plants, I don’t want to spend too much money tho.

Questions…
1) Will an LED light work? If so, how do I tell which ones are for plants?
2) Are there ones that will work with the hood my tank came with? The hood doesn’t have a slot for a new one and the lights it came with are just three groups of three LED bulbs (doubt they would be enough!). But I’m fine with DIYing a light onto the underside of the lid if that’s possible or a good idea…???

FinalFins

Almost all LED light fixtures on the market will grow most low-medium light plants very well.

The "which ones are for plants" question is a bit complicated. All aquarium dedicated LED light strips will grow plants fine. But there are some on the market that are better, and some that are worse. Just because it is labeled 'planted tank' doesn't mean it is the best for a planted tank with your needs. I grow aquatic plants with a cheap terrestrial grow light.. and the same plants grow fine with aquarium dedicated light strips.Plants are very versatile in where you can supply the light source. You usually want to be looking at the PAR or wattage.

I have one of those tank kits. Granted it is Top Fin, not Aqueon but the 3 single LED units won't grow plants other than the most low light plants. I strongly encourage investing in a LED fixture if you want to expand beyond java fern. I would be more than happy to recommend a few.

PurpleFish

Almost all LED light fixtures on the market will grow most low-medium light plants very well.