Confused about types of filtration

Deletedddd333
I'm just beginning to convert my 29 gal cichlid tank into salt water. I have already decided for sure that I will be getting live rock, because I've researched that it is very bennifial and helps you out with natural filtration. I also have a HOB filter that is for up too 55 gals, and cleans my 29 gal perfectly.
What I need help on is I can't decided if I really need a protein skimmer, because everywhere I read, some say it's a must while others disagree, stating it removes important bacteria. So with live rock and a filter do I still need a skimmer?
And I am also confused on powerheads, I understand the purpose is to keep the water circulating, but do I put one it, or more? Can I put power heads with my filter and Live rock and avoid a skimmer?

Thank you!
(Btw my tank is going to be a FOWLR! No corals yet!)

Claire Bear
HI and welcome.
This gets very confusing as everyone has their own opinion.
Is a skimmer a must? No, however it is by far my favorite piece of reef equipment.

A skimmer gets the nasties out of the tank. I have had a reef up for just over a year-a fairly new tank in the world of saltwater. The skimmer pulls so much smelly stuff out-you just would not believe what comes out.
I personally want anything that makes reef keeping easier! For me, that includes powerheads that turn the water over 10xs an hour, live rock and a skimmer.
You really don't need a HOB for a saltwater tank as it is much more efficient to use live rock, powerheads and a skimmer, imo.
However, you can use an HOB to polish the water or remove things that require carbon to remove as it could hold the carbon for you-I use one once in a while when I think my water needs a little cleaning-more than a sock gives although I use those routinely.
Here is a link that has really great info for you to read and reread (I know I still refer back to it at times).
https://www.fishlore.com/saltwater-aquarium-reef-tank-book.htm

AquaticBrandon