confused about live rock??? Help!

zatch214
Ok. so I'm new to salt water tanks. I'm going to get a new 29-30 gallon tank in a couple of days. I really want a a reef tank but I'm not sure what to get. I know I need live rock but I'm not sure what kind to get. what's most perferd amongst new keepers. I would also like some anenamois and other inverts with fish but need some help in deciding what's best for my tank. thanks for the help in advace

(p.s)I know stuff is spelled wrong

sirdarksol
Unsure about "types" of live rock. I can, at least, get the ball rolling and help the next marine enthusiast to read this, as I've been asking similar questions.

What kind of light are you going to have? This will help determine your choice of inverts, as some "grow" their food as algae stored in their tissue. I think anenomes fall in this category.
You're choices of fish are likely going to be limited with a 30 gallon tank, so be thinking if there are any particulars you like the looks of (head to liveaquaria and look at the saltwater fish. They've got indicators regarding how difficult the fish are to keep, as well as the minimum tank size) The fish will also help determine the inverts you can keep, as some fish will eat particular corals, or shrimp, or crabs, or whatever.
Conversely, you can pick inverts (same site will help), and this will help determine the fish you can keep.
Keep an eye out for anything that says it's an escape artist. If you are incapable of providing a tank with a tight-fitting lid that has no significant gaps, avoid those fish/inverts. They will escape. For example, octopuses have been known to escape from their tank, cross the room to a freshwater tank, eat the fish, and then crawl back into their own tank.
Is there anything else in particular you're looking for? (for example, were you wanting to set up an Australian-only reef, or some other particular ecology, or do you just want to build something that won't self-destruct?)

zatch214