Conflicting information... Can you help me with goldfish sizes??

1. lala29

lala29 Well Known Member Member

So i have been doing so research into fancy goldfish sizes!

I have never really thought about it much before and now im interested in how big my babies with get :)

I have a fantail and what i believe is a ryukin! Can anybody tell me how big they will get?!?

At the moment my fantail is around 3-4 inches including his fins

And the "ryukin" is 5 inches including her fins!

Thankyou!

2. I love my puffer

I love my puffer Valued Member Member

It should remain under 8 inches if a common fantail. Other types can get up to 15! Now your ryukin(if it is one) will stay at around 7-9.

hope this helps!

3. junebug

junebug Fishlore Legend Member

I'm no goldie expert, but my understanding is fancy goldfish generally grow to between 6 and 8 inches.

4. HappyKnitter

HappyKnitter Valued Member Member

A lot has to do with genetics. You are more able to know if you get the goldfishe's from a breeder. They would be the most reliable to tell you about their fish. But if you buy them from a pet shop it is hard to tell . They have estimate sizes in books but you never know.

5. OP
    OP
    lala29

Oh dear... More conflicting info! Thanks guys... Still not 100% sure

i see! Well my goldfish has weird genetics so i never know with her! Thankyou

6. HappyKnitter

HappyKnitter Valued Member Member

I pay attention to the health . I have my tiny redcap oranda in books it should be about 6 to 8 inches by now, but she is still 2-1/2 inch body and a 2 inch tail. She has only grown about an inch since I got her 2/2014. She is my little dynamo.

7. OP
    OP
    lala29

sounds adorable!... Now my Goldie and nipper have a 30 gallons to grow into :D i don't think she will grow much more as she is a bit ... But i love her! :)

8. Rivieraneo

Rivieraneo Moderator Moderator Member