Conditions for Silver Dollar school

Brolli

Reaction score
Greetings!

I'm very new to this hobby, I don't own my own tank yet but that will hopefully change soon. There is a 240 liter freshwater tank at my place of work that I've become quite invested in and got me interested in fishkeeping. As of now the inhabitants are 2 catfish(not sure about the species), 2 apple snails, 1 unknown black snail, 1 barb(not sure which species) around 12-15 baby cichlids (zebra hybrid I think) ranging in size but the biggest few are around 4cm in size. 1 adult who is the father of the babies(he will probably be removed due to aggression towards all inhabitants including his babies and especially the newly introduced apple snails who will hardly exit their shells due to harrassment).
Another co worker who has 6 silver dollars at home, is trying to get rid of them, and came up with the idea to bring them into this tank. I was just wondering if the conditions are adequate. Considering there are already around 20 inhabitants(all fairly small, except for the adult cichlid whose fate remains unknown), could the introduction of the silver dollars be too much? And make all of the inhabitants unhappy? If not 6 could it work for 3?
Any advice would be gladly appreciated.

A201

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Silver Dollar fish likely won't do well with Zebra Mbuna Cichlids. Getting rid of the adult male Zebra would be a temporary fix. Sooner or later the baby Zebras will become bigger & some will be just as aggressive as dad.
Five foot tanks & longer are more suited for Silver Dollar fish.
IMO, Keeping six Silver Dollars in a 65 gal. w/ adequate filtration is possible, minus the African Cichlids.

Littlebudda

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years