Concrete In A Saltwater Tank?

BRDrew
I work in construction and I recently found a manufactures that makes incrediply porous concrete blocks. He uses some kind bacteria to make the block take in CO2, much like bread, and it looks pretty much like marine pure media.

Has anyone here ever have concrete inside their tank? Does it change the water chemistry? I was wondering if I could give it a try as media.

Jesterrace
I wouldn't as you have no clue what all has gone into that mix. My biggest concern would be toxins and that phosphate would be off the charts with all the various minerals that go into mixing concrete and I can't imagine that concrete would do well in saltwater given that concrete weathers when exposed to various salt mixes.

Mr Clown Loach
I wouldn’t within the concrete there are most likely some form of chemicals that are not safe for fish. I’ve heard of a simple mineral from rocks killing off a whole tank.

BRDrew
I will try getting a list with the composition of the concrete so we can check. Also I'm not quite sure it would wear down too fast, Ive seen the blocks being used submersed, not in Saltwater but submerged anyways.

Reeferxbetta
I wouldn't. I'm not really understanding the point of putting bricks in the tank, I get that the marine pure stuff is supposed to be really porous and hold lots of good bacteria, but good quality live rock should achieve the same thing. Maybe that's just me, I don't see the point of adding any "bio media" type stuff to my saltwater tank, I prefer to just let the live rock take care of that.

BRDrew
I wouldn't. I'm not really understanding the point of putting bricks in the tank, I get that the marine pure stuff is supposed to be really porous and hold lots of good bacteria, but good quality live rock should achieve the same thing. Maybe that's just me, I don't see the point of adding any "bio media" type stuff to my saltwater tank, I prefer to just let the live rock take care of that.