computer nerds needed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bankruptjojo, Dec 2, 2012.

1. bankruptjojo

bankruptjojo Fishlore VIP Member

im going to be building my first gaming pc. i was wondering if we had any one here that could help, or direct me to a good forum for help.

if there is anyone here that is VERY experienced with this and wants to help let me know and ill start posting links and asking questions about what i was thinking. im not clueless here but as said this will be my first build.

thanks

2. C

Cichlidnut Fishlore VIP Member

Why hello there! I'm a computer technician. Also, a massive gamer/geek ;D What do you want to know?! What kind of budget are you looking at? Feel free to PM me if you'd like.

3. h

hobo Valued Member Member

My two boys are big gamers the best way to go is to build your own rig way cheaper they built two gamming rigs top of the line with really nice cases no prior experience

4. matsungit

matsungit Well Known Member Member

Probably the biggest challenge is overclocking. Some components are mediocre when in default mode but awesome when overclocked.

Are you considering a gaming laptop?

If a desktop then you could copy or improve on the configuration above. Bigger secondary harddrive or a second GTX graphics card in SLI mode. Cooling is also an issue especially when overclocking whether it be fan cooled or water cooled.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  5. OP
    OP
    bankruptjojo

i currently have 1 laptop and one desktop. the desktop is nothing special, i think im going to give it to someone i know.

budget? i like to think i dont have a budget lol but i dont want to throw money away either.

here is what im looking at.

processor...
    intel core i5-3570k
    or if its worth the extra $ the
    intel core i7-3770k
    or even amd route
    amd fx-8150, liquid cooled

graphics card...
    Radeon HD 7970, any opinions on brands if i go this route? Sapphire?
    or
    EVGA GeForce GTX 680