Completely new here

1. l

lefty182 New Member Member

Hello everyone. I am new to aquariums but I want to start my own saltwater aquarium. I was doing some research on aquariums to get and I really like the look of the BioCube's. Im going to be putting this in my bedroom so I can't get anything TOO big.

I don't really have any clue about corals or anything of that matter. I just wanted someone to point me in the right direction starting my tank and what I would need for it.

Thanks!

2. critter_fritter79

critter_fritter79 Well Known Member Member

Welcome!:;hi2 I don't really know much about saltwater tanks but there are several people on here that are pretty much experts...I am sure one of them will have some ideas for you!

3. OP
    OP
    l

lefty182 New Member Member

Cool. Thanks for the reply! :)

4. agabr123

agabr123 Fishlore VIP Member

hi there and welcome! :) i also don't have any experience with saltwater tanks, but if you are completely new to fish i would probably suggest starting with a freshwater tank as they are MUCH easier to maintain and also less expensive

5. Aquarist

Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

6. ATP

ATP Well Known Member Member

Hi there,

Keeping corals is just making sure you have proper intense lighting and good water chemistry :) You can feed it to make them grow faster, but completely unnecessarily. Here's a link that will explain about water chemistry for reef tanks

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-05/rhf/index.php

What size/type of bio cube are you looking at? A good book that explains things really well when I started is called;
    NATURAL REEF AQUARIUMS Simplified Approaches to Creating Living Saltwater Microcosms

Also, try and get the biggest tank you could get. It'll be a lot more interesting and most importantly easier to maintain.

ATP,
    :;f:;fb:;fg:;fr:;f

7. d

dave.brandon7 New Member Member

hello there