Completely discouraged

1. Amanda Fishlore VIP Member

My 55 is green. SOLID green.
    :;dk
    Algae bloom I guess? I rinses my Can filter out - everything was green. I don't know what else to do, I've done HUGE water changes, and fasted my fish to limit nitrates. I can't even tell if everyone is even still alive. I also lost fish in my 20, no idea why.
    I'm just really discouraged in this hobby, it's becoming a lot of stress & tears and it shouldn't be that way.

2. Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

:console: Aww Amnda, I'm so sorry.
    It can be frustrating. Maybe you should look at your phosphates.

3. bolivianbaby Fishlore Legend Member

Amanda, I'm so sorry you're having such a hard time right now. Please don't get discouraged. Unfortunately, I have NO experience with algae, but I hope you get it figured out and resolved soon.

4. sirdarksol Fishlore Legend Member

Test your source water. River water, in particular, can go through nitrogen spikes, but ground water can, too.

5. Nate McFin Well Known Member Member

UV sterilizer. 2 days. Say goodbye to it forever. I use the green killing machine from PetCo, cheap and effective. Also good for parasites!
    Also for what its worth the nitrates causing algae theory is pretty much history. Tom Barr has done loads of tests and found excess will not cause algae problems....fish problems are another story.

6. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

A UV filter might help out significantly. One of my tanks recieves some direct sunlight and as soon as I started getting algae I got a UV sterilizer and haven't had an issue since.

7. Amanda Fishlore VIP Member

How much are UV sterilizers? I'm spending so much on my 150, so I need something relatively cheap.
    How do they work?

8. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

They work by exposing the water, and everythng in the water, to an ultraviolet light which destroys things on a cellular level. I think you can count on spending at least $100, but probably less than $200.