15 Gallon Tank complete newbie, hello!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ex-bootneck

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
hi everyone!
im new to this site and new to keeping fish (well haven't actually bought any yet)
i've just bought a 15 gallon (60 litre) freshwater biorb tank and have done some research and have read about carrying out fishless cycles, etc and reading some of the horror stories on here, am glad i did!
i've looked into the fish that i want and was hoping for some advice as i didn't want to mix the wrong types of fish and come home to a massacre, i also didn't want to over populate the tank!
the fish i had in mind were a blue siamese fighter, a neon dwarf gourami, a blacklace angel fish and i wanted to add a ruby shark once the others had settled in, to try and prevent it from bullying the others and nipping at the siamese fighters fins?
i also read that angel fish and siamese fighters may see each other as a threat?? all advice would be greatly appreciated!
cheers guys, dave

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Welcome to fl

If you go to the main fishlore page, there is a list of fish on the right side of the page. these are the profiles for each type of fish - you can find out minimum tank sizes, suitable tankmates, etc. I am not telling you this because we won't help with stocking ideas. I am telling you because the best thing you can do for your fish is loads of research.

Congrats on the fishless cycling. What method did you use?

jdhef

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!

Sadly, your stocking list contains many problems.

1. Siamease Fighters are usually not community fish and really should be in a tank by themselves. While on rare occasion they will work in a community tank, they never get along with Dwarf Gourami's.

2. Angelfish get much to large for a 15 gallon tank.

3. I think the Ruby Shark also gets too large for that tank also.