Compatibility Help.

1. Afishonation

Afishonation New Member Member

I am new to the hobby and recently acquired a 65G cichlid tank. It came with all supplies including fish. I fear that some compatibility issues may arise. Could use some expert opinions. Please keep in mind I did not choose to put these fish together they came with the tank.
    There are:
    3 pseudotropheus socolofia (male, female, juvinal)
    1 male Maylandia estherae (red zebra)
    a pair of Amatitlania nigrofasciata (convicts)
    1 male Rocio octofasciata (Jack Dempsey)
    1 Rafael spotted cat fish
    2 Sterba corydoras
    1 peacock eel

There was a large and smaller Flowerhorn when I got it but I knew that was not a good idea so I took them out and traded them for 2 fish in a mixed peacock tank but I have done some research and think they are actually a pair of juvenile Maylandia lombardo (Kenyi).
    What should I change if anything?

2. Anders247

Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to fishlore!
    Yes, these fish are incompatible. It comes down to what you want, though. Do you want to keep the African cichlids, or the Central American ones?
    I'd definitely rehome the cories, though. What are the dimensions of the tank?

3. Fashooga

Fashooga Fishlore VIP Member

This won't work. You have a mix of Southern American fish (JD and convict) and Lake Malawi. The Lake Malawi (Red Zebra and pseudotropheus) require pH around 8-8.6 while the JD and convicts are usually around 7.0-7.5ish. So those will not work at all.

The Cory will need to be in a group of 6 but they won't work either as they require cooler temperatures, max is 77 degrees. You could put them with the Southern American fish, but keep in mind that they might end up being food as the JD will grow.

So at this point, it's either you go the African route or the S. American route.

4. Anders247