Compartmentalized Tank And Lack Of Circulation

jaydej2010

I am new to fish keeping, I am actually an unintentional fish mom. I recently came into possession of a Aqua One Betta Trio after the previous owners decided they could no longer provide proper care for the 3 betta's living inside of it. After a good cleaning and getting the tank back on a healthy cycle (it was quite neglected before with terrible ammonia and algae problems) I have decided I do like the tank enough to keep it. I am not interested in purchasing a different tank at this time.

The only real issue I can see with this tank is the general lack of water flow throughout the tank. The compartment on the right hand side gets much more circulation ( this is the only outflow area, I have a teeny, very active female in there who seems ok) than the middle or left compartments.

I am curious what suggestions might be given as to how to increase the flow of water in the other two compartments. This tank came with a submersible water pump. I am open to purchasing a different pump but would prefer to stick with the submersible versions as I like minimal objects/clutter outside the tank. I know the airline tubing would probably work as a hack to push the water into the different compartments but I am unsure of how to attach the lines to the water pump. Also I am unsure if the tubing should just hang down into the compartment or if there is a gentle aerator that can be added that helps with circulation but won't disturb the bettas. I understand what airstones are but because this tank only provides about 2.5g per betta I worry that they will cause too much agitation for each compartment.

I do plan on redoing the tank asap to be a low-light planted tank, just fyi. Perhaps I am worrying to much about the water flow?

Sorry if this is really obvious but I have been puzzling over as to what to do for the last couple of days...

DIYbetta